Photography with Intent

Understanding intent within the use of ones own photography may be one of the largest concepts and philosophies I’ve grasped onto as an artist. Intent helps define simple and complex works of art and shapes the life of a creative who’s in pursuit of adding more to their images, unless of course that’s what was intended. It’s a simple topic that can be discussed in length. The challenge that comes with intent is communication. An artists needs to be able to visually show their intent with their chosen medium and effectively communicate to the audience their message by preserving what was intended.

A great example of this can be seen in the works of Lee Friedlander, who’s works and style has been described as “shooting the world around him in what initially seemed like a haphazard fashion” (, the gaurdian) The first image I ever saw of Lee Friedlander, was this street photography image where his own shadow is cast on the back of a women.

friedlander12s
Lee Friedlander – Atget Photography.com

At first glance I personally disregarded this image as an amateurs mistake. The light seems harsh, the subject unaware of the camera, distracting chaos in the background and what about the photographers own shadow as the main focus point in the image, who does that? Then I learned the truth, the truth about the photographers intent and now I see the image in a completely different way.

As mentioned, one can become old in discussing this topic, but a topic I thought was productive as a springboard into my first blog post in introducing myself and my work.

My INTENT in writing this blog is to help me communicate some of the behind the scene (#BTS) stories from commercial photography assignments, personal projects and as a form of personal theory to help me write a few of the thoughts that tumble around inside my head. The audience only see’s the end results from a journey; and I want to expand on what it took to create the photo and this photography blog is a simple way for me to share those stories with you.

Photography fascinating me, but there are some genres that stand out more than others. Knowing why I gravitate towards one over another has helped me disperse of the noise within this industry and has allowed me to be focus on creating the photos I want to create. Learning this about myself has not been easy, but that’s half the fun. I’ve spent over seven years as a professional photographer, and seven of those years have been used in helping me better understand who I am. So who am I?

I define myself first as a photographer and secondly as a digital artist. I started out taking pictures with one goal in mind, of trying to capture the landscapes, people and events, which were shaping my life. I picked up a camera because I wanted to preserve a part of my life, which I could reminisce on in the future. I believe this is something most photographers have in common, if not everyone who picks up a camera to take a photo. They want to preserve the moment.

La Jolla Pier
La Jolla Pier – Weston Fuller, 2017

The digital arts part of me, loves to create beyond the release of the shutter. I love conceptual images, which provoke strong narratives and composite based work which allow photos to be created by combining elements from one image into the greater purpose of making another. Creating something that’s beyond the camera, where the hand of the artist can be seen. This is what helps define our different styles and this is what has helped create my digital compositing style of creating photomontage images, which border reality and flirt with fiction to create a single moment.

11-hfcs
HFCS from the Edible Truths series – Weston Fuller, 2013

I CREATE images rather than TAKE images because creating has a purpose…an INTENT. I encourage you to do the same, so please join me in the making of a photo…

Leave a Reply

